Why God, Why?
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Why God, Why?

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

6.3 Earthquake kills more than 200 in ChristChurch, New Zealand

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
Braigwen
Why yes, I am a Rocket Scientist!
Why yes, I am a Rocket Scientist!
Braigwen

6.3 Earthquake kills more than 200 in ChristChurch, New Zealand Empty
PostSubject: 6.3 Earthquake kills more than 200 in ChristChurch, New Zealand   6.3 Earthquake kills more than 200 in ChristChurch, New Zealand EmptyTue Feb 22, 2011 11:39 am

Latest here.

Quote :
One of New Zealand's largest cities lay in ruins Tuesday night after a powerful earthquake killed at least 65 people, toppled buildings and left scores trapped beneath chunks of concrete.
Hundreds of rescuers were headed to the scene to aid in the search for survivors, according to CNN affiliate TVNZ.

The quake was even strong enough to topple the huge stone cathedral that the city was built around.

Quote :
The 6.3-magnitude quake struck Christchurch during the lunchtime rush. Frantic rescuers scrambled to reach those trapped beneath the rubble hours after the earthquake hit. Dazed, bleeding residents wandered through streets strewn with debris and piles of concrete.

Quote :
A Japanese school said its students and teachers visiting the city were trapped under the rubble. Two students have been rescued so far and were receiving treatment, the school said. The trapped are communicating by mobile phone.
The 21 students and two teachers were eating lunch when the earthquake struck, said Sayaka Kawai, an employee at the Toyama Foreign Language School.

There are only seven students and one teacher accounted for. Japan is sending rescuers to aid New Zealand authorities stretched to the breaking point.